Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault

Fernand Nault had the chance to learn from “Masters” who were writing the history of dance. For the Quebec of its time, he was the link between tradition and innovation. His Work, of which the universality and contemporaneity remain, embodies a significant page of our socio-cultural history, of the affirmation of our identity. Nault’s ballets tell, among other things, the societal breakup of a historical era.

Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault (FCFN) was created in February of 2003 in order to give access, to the Companies and Professional dance Schools, to the works of this appreciated and renowned artist.

The FCFN has for mission to ensure the durability of the choreographic repertoire of Fernand Nault. A duly registered legal entity acquired by assignment of rights, the FCFN also has the mandate to protect the moral rights of its author and the promotion of his repertoire.

To fulfill this mission, Fernand Nault imparted to his trustee, André Laprise, the responsibility of preserving the artistic integrity, the level of excellence and the intention of his work, along with the administrator ship of the FCFN.

The experience acquired by André Laprise at the side of Fernand Nault since 1984, the documentation and the archive videos selected for their analysable material are part of the main reference sources.

To obtain further information on specific works, such as licencing fees, technical needs, required staging time or any other details, you must contact the trustee of the FCFN, André Laprise.

Depending on the situation, André Laprise’s services include:

  • administrator ship and promotion (sales, royalty and licence contracts, fees…);
  • negotiation and execution of any restaging (rehearsals, staging, costumes, sets, accessories, lighting, casting…);
  • any other intervention related to a production;
  • administrator ship of all other matters in relation to Fernand Nault’s repertory.

Repertoire – Price list

Fernand Nault
Choregrapher Emeritus
1920-2006

Born in Montreal, Fernand Nault first studied dance with Maurice Morenoff and then in New York, London, and Paris with renowned masters. From 1944 to 1965, he was a dancer, then a ballet master at The American Ballet Theatre. From 1960 to 1964, he was also director of the company’s school in New York.

In 1965, he joined Les Grands Ballets Canadiens as co artistic director and resident choreographer. He helped the company take flight by creating astonishingly diverse works, ranging from classical to neoclassical, including contemporary and theatrical dance. Thus, he added to the repertoire works such as La Fille mal gardée, Danses concertantes, Symphony of Psalms, Liberté tempérée, La Scouine and The Seven Deadly Sins not to mention his famous The Nutcracker presented each year since 1964 and two works of resounding success and international renown: Carmina Burana and Tommy.

Fernand Nault remained resident choreographer of Les Grands ballets Canadiens while serving as choreographer and ballet master at l’École supérieure de danse du Québec. Between 1985 and 1988, at the request of Ludmilla Chiriaeff, he organized several series of performances intended to foster a taste for dance among elementary, secondary schools and cegeps students in the Montreal region.

Fernand Nault has conceived many choreographies for Alberta Ballet, American Ballet Theatre, Atlanta Ballet, Ballet Federation of the Philippines, Chicago Ballet, Danse-Partout, Delta Festival Ballet, Harkness Ballet Company, Joffrey Ballet, Maryland Ballet, National Ballet of Korea, and Washington Ballet. From 1978 to 1981, he was guest choreographer and, from 1981 to 1982, artistic director of The Colorado Ballet. Among other collaborations, Fernand Nault worked with L’Opéra de Montréal for which he choreographed the dance sequences of Aïda and La Veuve joyeuse presented in 1986 and in 1991.

Fernand Nault has received three awards from the Canadian government, the Centennial Medal, in 1967, the Order of Canada, in 1977 and the Governor General’s awards for the performing arts, in 2000. He has been awarded the prize for choreography, in 1976, for his ballet Incohérence at the VII International Ballet Competition in Varna, Bulgaria. In 1984, he was honoured by the Government of Quebec with the Prix Denise Pelletier, a lifetime achievement award. In 1990, he was accepted as a Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Québec and was named Choreographer Emeritus of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens.

In 2003, Fernand Nault founded the Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault, a trust with mission to ensure the continuity of his choreographic heritage, and to make his repertoire accessible to professional dance companies and schools.


 

André Laprise
Trustee and Official Rehearsal Master,
Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault

Born in Eastern Townships, André Laprise graduated from L’École supérieure des Grands Ballets Canadiens. Teacher and choreographer at L’Académie de danse de l’Outaouais since 1979, he was appointed artistic, educational, and administrative director of this institution in 1982. In 1984, he created the Camp d’été qui danse and became assistant of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens Choreographer Emeritus, Fernand Nault.

His career as a dancer, teacher and rehearsal master brought him to work in Canada, United States, Europe and Asia with Atlanta Ballet, Brno National Theatre Ballet, Colorado Ballet, Danse-Partout, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, Kansas City Ballet, National Ballet of Korea, Nice Ballet Théâtre, Ottawa Dance Theatre, Slovak National Ballet, Southern Ballet Theatre and Washington Ballet. André Laprise has received several grants from the Ministère des Affaires culturelles du Québec and has also served as a jury member for various dance competitions at the Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec, the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec and the Ottawa Arts Council.

From 1990 to 2006 he has been active as a member of different comities and board member of organizations devoted to training, production, and development of dance like the Regroupement québécois de la danse, the Réseau d’écoles partenaires en danse classique du Québec and the Conseil québécois des ressources humaines en culture. From 2002 to 2011, he was also a member of the Commission des arts, de la culture, des lettres et du patrimoine de Gatineau.

In 2002, the Prix homage de la Ville de Gatineau is presented to André Laprise for his involvement in the artistic and cultural development of the Outaouais region.

In February 2003, André Laprise was appointed Trustee of the Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault.

Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault would like to thank for their collaboration and support:

  • Marchand Melançon Forget s.e.n.c.r.l., Advocate
  • Marie-Claude Laprise
  • Marie-Renée Boudreault, CGA, co-trustee
  • Me Louise Giguère, notary
  • Me Mathilde Rompré, Legal councillor
  • Me Catherine Tremblay, Legal councillor
  • Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec
  • Julien Tolsczuk Jalbert, website creator (2005-2014)
  • Pierre-Alexandre Tanguay, website creator (2015)
  • Vincent Warren
  • Vacarm, website creator (2020)
  • Mireille Gauthier, website content integration (2020)

Présentation

Fernand Nault a créé tout au long de sa carrière des ballets qui font appel aux aptitudes des interprètes, tant sur les plans de la technique que de l’interprétation.

Le Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault a été créé en février 2003 afin de rendre disponibles, auprès des compagnies et des écoles de formation professionnelles en danse, les oeuvres de cet artiste renommé et apprécié.

Chorégraphe important au Québec et au Canada, ses oeuvres traitent de sujets qui sont toujours actuels.

Note FN, ScanLTR

Mission

Le Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault (FCFN) a pour mission première d’assurer la pérennité du répertoire chorégraphique de Fernand Nault. Entité légale acquise par Cession de Droit et dûment enregistrée, le FCFN a aussi pour mandat la protection du droit moral de son auteur et la promotion de son répertoire.

Pour réaliser cette mission, Fernand Nault a confié à son fiduciaire, André Laprise, la responsabilité de préserver l’intégrité artistique, le niveau d’excellence et l’intention de ses oeuvres ainsi que la gestion administrative du FCFN.

Sources

L’expérience et la documentation acquises par André Laprise auprès de Fernand Nault depuis 1984 et les vidéos d’archives spécialement sélectionnés composent les principales sources de références.

License

Pour obtenir les renseignements spécifiques à une oeuvre, tels les frais de licence, les besoins techniques, le temps requis de mise en scène et autres détails, il faut communiquer avec le fiduciaire du Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault, M. André Laprise.

Selon le cas, les services de M. Laprise comprennent entre autres :

  • la gestion administrative et la promotion (mise en vente, contrats de licence et de redevances, tarifs…);
  • la négociation et l’exécution de tout remontage (répétitions, mise en scène, costumes, décors, accessoires, éclairages, choix de distributions…);
  • toute autres interventions reliées au remontage d’une oeuvre;
  • la gestion de toute affaire en relation avec les oeuvres du chorégraphe Fernand Nault

Biographies

Fernand Nault
Chorégraphe émérite
1920-2006

 

Né à Montréal, Fernand Nault a étudié la danse auprès de Maurice Morenoff et, auprès de grands maîtres, à New York, à Londres et à Paris. De 1944 à 1965, il a été danseur puis maître de ballet à l’American Ballet Theatre où il fut aussi, de 1960 à 1964, directeur pédagogique de l’école de cette compagnie new yorkaise.

En 1965, il se joint aux Grands Ballets Canadiens à titre de codirecteur artistique et de chorégraphe attitré. Il permet à la compagnie de prendre son envol en créant des œuvres d’une diversité étonnante, allant du classique au néo classique, en passant par le contemporain et la danse théâtrale. Il intègre au répertoire des œuvres telles que La Fille mal gardéeDanses concertantesSymphonie de psaumesLiberté tempéréeLa ScouineLes Sept Péchés capitaux, sans oublier Casse Noisette présentée chaque année depuis 1964, et deux œuvres au succès retentissant, reconnues mondialement, Carmina Burana et Tommy.

Tout en demeurant chorégraphe attitré des Grands Ballets Canadiens, Fernand Nault a travaillé à l’École supérieure de danse du Québec comme chorégraphe et maître de ballet. De 1985 à 1988, il a constitué, à l’instigation de Ludmilla Chiriaeff, plusieurs séries de spectacles destinés à éveiller le goût de la danse chez les élèves des écoles primaires et secondaires ainsi que chez les étudiants des cégeps de la région de Montréal.

Fernand Nault a signé de nombreuses chorégraphies pour l’Alberta Ballet, l’American Ballet Theatre, le Ballet national de la Corée, le Joffrey Ballet, l’Atlanta Ballet, le Ballet Federation of the Philippines, le Delta Festival Ballet, le Washington Ballet. Il fut également, de 1978 à 1981, Chorégraphe invité et de 1981 à 1982 directeur artistique du Colorado Ballet. On compte parmi ses autres collaborations, les chorégraphies des opéras Aïda et La Veuve joyeuseprésentées par l’Opéra de Montréal en 1986 et 1991.

À trois reprises, le Gouvernement du Canada a honoré Fernand Nault en lui accordant en 1967, la médaille du Centenaire, en 1977, l’Ordre du Canada et en 2000 le Prix du gouverneur général pour les arts d’interprétation. On lui décernait, en 1976, pour son ballet Incohérence, le prix de la chorégraphie du VIIe concours international de ballet de Varna en Bulgarie. En 1984, il fut honoré du Prix Denise Pelletier pour les arts d’interprétation. En 1990, il était reçu Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Québec et était nommé Chorégraphe émérite des Grands Ballets Canadiens.

En 2003, Fernand Nault créait le Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault, une fiducie dont la mission est d’assurer la continuité de son patrimoine chorégraphique et de rendre disponible ses œuvres auprès des compagnies et des écoles de danse professionnelles.


 

André Laprise
Fiduciaire et répétiteur attitré,
Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault

Originaire des Cantons de l’est, André Laprise est diplômé de l’École supérieure des Grands Ballets Canadiens. Professeur et chorégraphe à l’Académie de danse de l’Outaouais depuis 1979, il est nommé directeur artistique, pédagogique et administratif de l’institution en 1982. En 1984, il crée le Camp d’été qui danse et devient assistant du chorégraphe émérite des Grands Ballets Canadiens, monsieur Fernand Nault.

Sa carrière de danseur, professeur et répétiteur l’a amené à travailler au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Asie avec entre autres l’Atlanta Ballet, le Ballet du Théâtre national de Brno, le Ballet national de la Corée, Ballet national de la Slovaquie, Danse-Partout, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, Kansas City Ballet, Nice Ballet Théâtre, Ottawa Dance Theater, Southern Ballet Théâtre et Washington Ballet. Plusieurs fois boursier du ministère des Affaires culturelles du Québec, André Laprise a aussi agi à plusieurs reprises comme membre de jurys pour différents concours en danse au ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec, au Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et au Conseil des Arts d’Ottawa.

En plus de ses activités régulières, André Laprise s’est engagé de 1990 à 2006 auprès d’organismes voués à la formation, à la production et au développement de la danse tels le Réseau d’écoles partenaires en danse classique du Québec, dont l’Académie de danse de l’Outaouais est un des membres fondateurs, le Regroupement québécois de la danse et le Conseil québécois des ressources humaines en culture. À titre de citoyen, il a siégé à la Commission des arts, de la culture, des lettres et du patrimoine de la grande ville de Gatineau de 2002 à 2011.

En 2002, André Laprise recevait le Prix hommage de la Ville de Gatineau, prix décerné à une personne qui s’est illustrée de façon marquante dans le développement artistique et culturel de l’Outaouais.

En février 2003, André Laprise est nommé fiduciaire et répétiteur attitré du Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault.

Médias

TypeNomDate de modificationTaille

pdf
12décembre09 30/03/2015 5:01 pm23.5k

pdf
2005 Fev 25 Continuite Patrimoine Fr 30/03/2015 5:02 pm35.3k

pdf
2005 Fev 25 Continuité Patrimoine En 30/03/2015 5:02 pm34.9k

pdf
2006 Communique Site En 30/03/2015 5:02 pm63.1k

pdf
2006 Communique Site Fr 30/03/2015 5:02 pm63.2k

pdf
2006 La Fille Mal Gardée Fr 30/03/2015 5:02 pm62.6k

pdf
2006 La Fille Mal Gardée, En 30/03/2015 5:02 pm62.6k

pdf
2006 Fev La Fille Mal Gardee KCB Release 30/03/2015 5:03 pm28.8k

pdf
2006 Fev La Fille Mal Gardee KCB Review 30/03/2015 5:03 pm1.7M

pdf
2006 Fev La Fille Mal Gardee, Kansas City 30/03/2015 5:04 pm4.3M

pdf
2007 Dec Casse Noisette Magie De Noel 30/03/2015 5:02 pm285.9k

pdf
2007 Nov 24, Le Devoir 30/03/2015 5:02 pm302.6k

pdf
2008 Dec 02 CN Camille Pilon Clara 30/03/2015 5:01 pm236.4k

pdf
2008dec01, Casse Noisette, Un Avant Goût 30/03/2015 5:01 pm200.5k

pdf
2009 Dec 18 Casse Noisette Bratislava 30/03/2015 5:04 pm2M

pdf
Carmina Burana Corée 2008juil02 30/03/2015 5:01 pm44k

pdf
Casse Noisette, Bonjour Quebec 30/03/2015 5:02 pm243.4k

pdf
Casse Noisette, Reference En Matière De Danse 30/03/2015 5:01 pm216.8k

pdf
Casse Noisette Sans Fernand Nault 30/03/2015 5:01 pm234.1k

?
La Mosaïque Culturelle De Casse Noisette 30/03/2015 5:01 pm254.8k

pdf
Living Archive 30/03/2015 5:03 pm617.4k

pdf
Nouvelle Production Européenne Brno 14-11-02 30/03/2015 5:02 pm211k

pdf
Nutcracker Czech Republic Montreal Gazette 30/03/2015 5:03 pm582.6k

pdf
Une Nouvelle Production Européenne Du Ballet Casse Noisette De Fernand Nault 30/03/2015 5:01 pm89.4k

Activités

Le Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault (FCFN) a créé le Fonds d’archives Fernand Nault auprès des Archives nationales du Québec. Ce Fonds d’archives, composé de documents textuels et iconographiques, porte sur les activités artistiques du chorégraphe, notamment ses activités de directeur adjoint et chorégraphe aux Grands Ballets Canadiens, danseur, maître de ballet et régisseur à l’American Ballet Theatre, directeur artistique à l’American Ballet School, directeur artistique à Louisville (Kentucky) et Denver (Colorado).

Le Fonds d’archives Fernand Nault contient les documents suivants :

  • des documents relatifs à ses mises en scène: croquis, esquisses, affiches, programmes, photographies;
  • des notes manuscrites de ses mises en scène et de ses chorégraphies;
  • des coupures de presse;
  • des transcriptions d’entrevues;
  • des photographies, notamment prises lors des tournées effectuées pour l’American Ballet Theatre dans les années 1940 à 1960.

Remerciements

Le Fonds chorégraphique Fernand Nault tient à remercier pour leur support ou leur collaboration:

  • Marchand Melançon Forget s.e.n.c.r.l., Avocats
  • Marie-Claude Laprise
  • Marie-Renée Boudreault, CGA, co-fiduciaire
  • Me Louise Giguère, notaire
  • Me Mathilde Rompré, conseillère légale
  • Me Catherine Tremblay, conseillère légale
  • Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec
  • Julien Tolsczuk Jalbert, conception du site Internet (2005-2014)
  • Pierre-Alexandre Tanguay, concepteur du site Internet (2015)
  • Vincent Warren

Crédits Photos

En provenance des archives des Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal :

Andrew Oxenham, Michael Slobodian, Melodie Garbish, Ronald Diamond, André Le Coz, Ian W. Westbury, Pierre Gaudard, Roland Lorente

La Fille mal gardée (Kansas City Ballet) Photographe Steve Wilson

  • #4 – Kansas City Ballet : Chelsea Teel, Geoffrey Kropp
  • #5 – Kansas City Ballet : Caitlin Mack, Matthew Powell, Amber Metiva
  • #7 – Kansas City Ballet
  • #3 – Kansas City Ballet
  • Julien Tolszczuk-Jalbert (portrait André Laprise)